Summer 2016 musings 


I was fighting my phone today, it has never been the same since it was rescued in the life raft but recently it has definitely died. I was trying desperately to airdrop pictures and in a brief moment of life, more than it’s shown in weeks it worked and I got to have a little rummage around it. I found some desperate musings in the note section from the summer 2016 and my thoughts about leaving, one that I appreciated was how I looked forward to slowing down, to just being with my children, not racing them out the door, to school, to clubs, to friends instead just spending time with them, getting to be a part of their life, not just helping them with their own lives. 

Well I smiled at this as I have succeeded here, so much so that james and I both wanted to throttle them today…. there are some moments that I wouldn’t mind just a little quiet time all on my own, or a little romantic evening with James. But it is nice, I looked at us the other evening; we were all sprawled around the saloon double bed each of us quietly reading our books and their was such a loveliness to it that I thought wow this is gorgeous, all together, no fighting, no gadgets, no screens just a perfect moment. I am enjoying the conversations we have and the way we fill each day sometimes with adventures and activities but also just with the mundane chores that exist still, even in paradise. 


Since being on boats we’ve all read a lot more, it’s just what you do in the evening, on Brisa I read all Royce’s books which were all about heroic survival stories at sea; 76 days in a life raft, surviving a hurricane in a twenty foot boat and slowly drifting across the Pacific and all that, I loved them and they turned our drama quite pale in comparison, Jim tried to but couldn’t read them as they nagged at his should of stayed on the boat mentality. On Puffin I’ve worked my way through Natasha’s collection, I found this snippet in Jack Kerouac’s The Dharma Bums and thought this is exactly why I was happy to escape life for a while 

‘But there was a wisdom in it all, as you’ll see if you take a walk some night on a suburban street and pass house after house on both sides of the street each with the lamplight of the living room, shining golden, and inside the little blue square of the television, each living family riveting its attention on probably one show; nobody talking; silence in the yards; dogs barking at you because you pass on human feet instead of wheels.’ (Poldark was probably on!)

Because since having children and the freedom you lose due to your responsibilities, television has played a large part in the last ten years evenings of my life, not only mine but the kids as well and I wanted to escape that, I wanted us to go out and live. I haven’t missed it and the children haven’t moaned, although if Poldark starts up again whilst we’re away!!! 


I’m not trying to make it sound idyllic, it’s not, it has the usual amount of chaos that life has, every evening at bedtime we have to break up the mattress-space-battles that occur between the kids in the front cabin, every night go in and create the middle line which immediately Isla will stick a foot or a hand over and it all starts again and I mean every night !

At the minute Puffin is being attacked by 30 knots of wind and rain, the bay is wild and I can’t believe I’m going to say this but bloody freezing, we lost a towel over the side today whilst we were out and saw it lying on the bottom behind the boat on our return, there was not one volunteer to dive in and get it, it’s that cold! Everyone decided that it was a job for the morning when we will hopefully see the sun again. Ps the morning has come and gone and the towel is still on the bottom!

One response to “Summer 2016 musings 

  1. Love your musings and the idyllic picture you paint of you all reading, everyone transported to a new fantasy or practical world. It does make me lament the loss of the library you had on Dove ll. I like the spice of the line down the bed that has to be stepped over. Lines are always there to be stepped over are they not? Even if it’s only a toe. Love to you all.xxx
    Migvy’s just looked up from the sofa. I know what that look means – food? more walks?(he’s only just dried off) gardening? He loves the garden but likes it even more if I’m out there with him. Perhaps I’d better go indulge him.😀😘

    Like

Leave a Reply

